on getting dressed; a first step

February 4, 2013

Silk to chiffon to ponte, cotton to jersey; swirling botanical patterns and block colour. Deep reds and blues and greens, a surprisingly lovely and gentle navy, teals and purples, a great amount of black. These are my beautiful dresses that never get an airing. They are a silent reproach to my inertia, the somnolent grab for the clothes that I am used to, the ones that politely apologise for the visual space I might take up.

In the course of a great wardrobe clearout yesterday (read: one bag for the charity shop, an emptied wardrobe and three large mugs of tea later), it occurred to me; I have stopped dressing like myself. I can easily tell you how, but the why of it is rather tangled.

This does not seem like a particularly great way to go through life. I am no longer satisfied with leaving all the colour and playfulness for my sketchbooks and my finished work.

Yesterday I told myself, take a deep breath, and wear that dress. The earth will continue working away on its axis, the sky will not fall, people will not stare in horror and cover the eyes of small children. The likelihood is nobody will notice, or someone on the street will remark to themselves on what a lovely colour or pattern it is in between coffee-coffee-coffeethoughts and oh-god-the-email-is-mounting-upthoughts and go on their way.

8 Responses to “on getting dressed; a first step”

  1. julie said

    What a lovely thing to see you come to realise – be sure to let me know how it goes :) And let me know if you need a nudge and a reminder to come back and read this, should you lose sight of it at some point…

  2. So lovely!! Definitely think that as well as cheering yourself up with vibrancy and beautiful details, you’ll make someone else smile as well, and maybe make them feel a bit more brave tomorrow :)

    • watermemory said

      Gosh, thanks Aisling :)! That is a lovely thing to say. Re beautiful details: I remember reading a quote from someone who said that their life would be to make things beautiful; not a bad way to do this life thing, is it?

  3. Jane said

    Inspirational. I wear the same paint splattered, elasticated clothes every day but have some lovely things I never wear. Now I don’t fit into those clothes any more. If I do again (and I plan to) I’ve made myself a promise I will wear them and revel in the joy of them. If they fit us and they make us happy we should wear them. Thanks for this post. :-)

    • watermemory said

      I’ve noticed your amazing eye for colour and detail, Jane- I can imagine the treasures in your wardrobe! With that said, there are beautiful things out there that fit you just as you are. I hope you find something heart-stoppingly lovely, and wear it with pride and joy, just for the hell of it.

  4. Cathy said

    You are an inspiration to us all. Keep wearing the dresses, being who you are and showing it.

    • watermemory said

      *scuffs toes* Aw, Ms! It’s funny you should comment as I am wearing what I think of as your trademark shade of blue :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

