end of an era? p’shaw!*

(*meant to be phonetic rendering of a scoff, but probably more reminiscent of a 70s free nine piece jazz band from Metz)

At the end of this month (Saturday 27th), I will be leaving DesignerMart at Cow’s Lane after three and a half years. Considering how much DesignerMart has been a part of my life since 2008, it would be a little odd not to acknowledge it here.

It is a wrench leaving, primarily for the amazing friends I have made during my time there. There is a small list of things I won’t miss:

– the fickleness of the weather gods (I swear, at times you’d think Cow’s Lane had its own weather system unrelated to anywhere else in Dublin let alone Dame St up at the top);

– those early starts on a Saturday morning (when I am *delicate pause* not at my finest)

But those things are far outweighed by the amazing friendship and cameraderie I found at Cow’s Lane. I have worked with a rare bunch of people there; I have waved some of them off with a lump in my throat. And now, it’s me.

I am currently working on some crafty ventures that you’ll be seeing more of in the coming months- there’ll be plenty of hints and previews on this very blog. After years of outdoor markets and craft fairs, I am now working on something a little different, and I love the challenge.

To all my wonderful customers at Cow’s Lane over the years, I hope you enjoy my wee treasures as much as I enjoyed making them. Thank you for all your kind comments, your great stories and your custom. It won’t be long before you’ll see even more WaterMemory wares.

To all of you reading (and a special hello to FB friends and Twitterites!), thanks for your great support, your kind words and your encouragement. Onward and upward, mar a deirtear!

4 thoughts on “end of an era? p’shaw!*

  1. Hi Regina,

    Temple Bar Cultural Trust would like to take this opportunity to say a big heartfelt thank you for all your enthusiasm, dedication and hard work at Designer Mart over the past three years. You will be greatly missed by the team here and all the traders at Cow’s Lane.

    Best wishes for with all your future plans and please do keep in touch.

    TBCT

    1. Denise,
      Thank you so much for the kind words. It’s been quite a trip with DesignerMart and I’ve enjoyed every minute that didn’t involve gale force winds! I’ve a lot of respect for what the Cultural Trust does and I hope you’ll all go from strength to strength.

    1. Hazel, I’m so sorry to have missed you! How are things going for you?

      It was a wrench to leave but at the same time, the website etc is something I really want to do and it requires a *lot* of time, you know?

Leave a Reply

